The Future Sound of London


The Future Sound of London (often abbreviated to FSOL) is a prolific British electronic music band composed of Garry Cobain and Brian Dougans. The duo are often credited with pushing the boundaries of electronic music experimentation and of pioneering a new era of dance music.

Although often labelled as ambient, Cobain and Dougans usually resist being typecast into any one particular genre. Their work covers most areas of electronic music, such as ambient techno, drum and bass, trip-hop, ambient dub, acid techno and often involves extreme experimentation; for example they have, since the turn of the millennium, experimented with psychedelic rock under their Amorphous Androgynous alias.

The artists have been fairly enigmatic in the past but have become more candid with their fanbase in recent years with social websites like Myspace, Youtube, their forum and many interviews in which Cobain almost always speaks for them both. In addition to music composition, their interests have covered a number of areas including film and video, 2D and 3D computer graphics, animation in making almost all their own videos for their singles, radio broadcasting and creating their own electronic devices for sound making.

(1988) Stakker Humanoid (as Humanoid)
(1989) Slam (as Humanoid)
(1989) Tonight (as Humanoid feat. Sharon Benson)
(1989) The Deep (as Humanoid)
(1989) Crystals (as Humanoid)
(1990) A.S.T. (as Art Science Technology)
(1990) I Can See for Miles (as Yunie)
(1990) Q (as Mental Cube)
(1991) So This Is Love (as Mental Cube)
(1991) You Took My Love (as Candese)
(1991) The Tingler (as Smart Systems)
(1991) The Pulse EP (as FSOL and Indo Tribe)
(1991) Pulse 2 EP (as FSOL, Smart Systems and Indo Tribe)
(1991) Q (as Mental Cube)
(1991) Principles of Motion EP (as Intelligent Communication)
(1991) Pulse 3 EP (as Smart Systems, Indo Tribe and Yage)
(1991) Papua New Guinea (LP/12")
(1992) Papua New Guinea (CD)
(1992) Fuzzy Logic EP (as Yage)
(1992) Pulse Four EP (as Mental Cube, Smart Systems and Indo Tribe)
(1992) Stakker Humanoid '92 (as Humanoid)
(1992) People Livin' Today (as Semi-Real)
(1992) Metropolis (as Metropolis)
(1993) Liquid Insects (as Amorphous Androgynous)
(1993) Cascade
(1994) Expander
(1994) Lifeforms (featuring Elizabeth Fraser)
(1995) The Far-Out Son of Lung and the Ramblings of a Madman
(1996) My Kingdom
(1997) We Have Explosive
(2001) Stakker Humanoid 2001 (as Humanoid)
(2001) Papua New Guinea 2001
(2002) Papua New Guinea Translations
(2002) The Mello Hippo Disco Show (as Amorphous Androgynous)
(2003) Divinity (as Amorphous Androgynous)
(2005) The Witchfinder (as The Amorphous Androgynous)
(2007) Papua New Guinea (Herd & White Remixes)
(2007) Archived EP
(2007) Stakker Humanoid 2007 (as Humanoid)
(2008) Tingler 2008 (as Smart Systems)

(1989) Global (as Humanoid)
(1991) Accelerator
(1992) Earthbeat
(1993) Tales of Ephidrina (as Amorphous Androgynous)
(1994) Lifeforms
(1994) ISDN
(1996) Dead Cities
(2002) The Isness (as Amorphous Androgynous, except in the U.S.A.)
(2003) Eurotechno (as Stakker)
(2003) Sessions 84-88 (as Humanoid)
(2005) Alice in Ultraland (as The Amorphous Androgynous)
(2006) Teachings from the Electronic Brain
(2007) From the Archives Vol. 1
(2007) From the Archives Vol. 2
(2007) From the Archives Vol. 3
(2007) Zeebox 1984-1987 Vol. 1 (as Zeebox)
(2007) Zeebox 1984-1987 Vol. 2 (as Zeebox)
(2007) Hand-Made Devices (as Polemical)
(2007) 4 Forests (as Part-Sub-Merged)
(2007) The San Monta Tapes (as Heads Of Agreement)
(2007) Environments
(2007) Your Body Sub Atomic (as Humanoid)
(2007) By Any Other Name (as FSOL, Mental Cube, Indo Tribe, Dope Module, Yage and Smart Systems)
(2008) The Pulse EPs (as FSOL, Indo Tribe, Smart Systems, Yage and Mental Cube)
(2008) From the Archives Vol. 4
(2008) The Peppermint Tree and Seeds of Superconsciousness (as The Amorphous Androgynous)
(2008) The Woodlands of Old (as Yage)
(2008) From the Archives Vol. 5
(2008) Environments II
(2008) A Monstrous Psychedelic Bubble Exploding in Your Mind: Volume 1 (as The Amorphous Androgynous)
(2009) A Monstrous Psychedelic Bubble Exploding in Your Mind: Volume 2 (as The Amorphous Androgynous)

(1991) Loleatta Holloway, "Do That To Me (Set Me Free)"
(1992) Unity, "Unity"
(1992) Inner City, "Praise"
(1992) Nomad, "Your Love Is Lifting Me"
(1992) Prefab Sprout, "If You Don't Love Me"
(1992) Stereo MCs, "Connected"
(1993) Curve, "Rising"
(1993) Bryan Ferry, "I Put A Spell On You"
(1993) The Shamen, "Re:iteration"
(1993) David Sylvian/Robert Fripp, "Darshana"
(1994) Apollo 440, "Liquid Cool"
(1994) Massive Attack, "Sly"
(1995) Jon Anderson, "Speed Deep"
(1996) Osamu Sato, "Face-Savers On-line"
(2001) Robert Miles, "Paths"
(2002) Deadly Avenger, "Day One"
(2009) Oasis, "Falling Down"